The Iowa Department of Public Health announced today that 107 Iowa communities — including Audubon — have been awarded the Water Fluoridation Quality Award from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

In addition, eight communities (Allison Water Supply, Atlantic Municipal Utilities, Eldridge Water Supply, Fort Madison Municipal Waterworks, Iowa Falls Water Department, Kalona Water Department, Milford Municipal Utilities and Spirit Lake Waterworks) have been awarded the 50 Year Award for maintaining continuous community water fluoridation from 1968-2018.

Nationally, 1,656 public water systems in 30 states received this award for 2018.

Area communities among 107 Iowa communities receiving awards include: Audubon, Atlantic, Carroll, Casey, Elk Horn, Harlan, Manilla, Manning