Handlos Family gets award

Pictured (left to right) were: Brian and Pat Handlos, Beth Handlos Wahlert, Doris and Lawrence Handlos, CADC Member, Paul Milligan, CADC Executive Director, Shannon Landauer, and Templeton Mayor, Ken Behrens.

TEMPLETON — The Carroll Area Development Corporation (CADC) Board of Directors gathered in the Templeton Center Tuesday afternoon to present the Spirit of Excellence Award to the Handlos family and Waspy’s Truck Stop. The Spirit of Excellence recognizes businesses for their investment in projects that result in a larger property tax base and create quality jobs within Carroll County. CADC Member, Paul Milligan, says the Handlos family checks all the criteria and then some for the award.

The Templeton Waspy’s Truck Stop opened its doors two and a half years ago and is under the ownership and leadership of Lawrence “Waspy” and Doris Handlos, their children Brian Handlos and Beth Handlos Wahlert, and daughter-in-law, Pat Handlos. In addition to bringing 19 new jobs to the community of 350 residents, Waspy’s has improved the quality of life for the people who live in and around Templeton by providing an easily accessible location to get groceries, grab a bite to eat, fill up with gas and more. Templeton Mayor, Ken Beherens, says it is investments made by people like the Handlos family that keep Carroll County a strong and vibrant place to live and work.

Lawrence and Doris were both born and raised in Willey and have farmed in the region for decades. When they recognized the need for a truck stop in Templeton, which sees thousands of vehicles pass by on Highway 141 everyday, they quickly began to develop plans to meet that need. Lawrence and Doris say they are proud to invest in the area they call home and thanked the CADC for the honor.

They also operate a Waspy’s Truck Stop in Audubon, which includes a 36-room Blue Grass Inn and Suites and The Feed Mill restaurant. The Handlos family joins Landus Cooperative and Carroll Coolers as the most recent recipients of the Spirit of Excellence Award.