SESS 4-H Club Holds Awards Night

(photo contributed)

Pictured (from left to right) Will Kading, Bryce Betts, Paige Kennedy, Parker Owen, Emily Lutz, Zoey Lutz, Trey Derry, Anna Lauritsen, Ruby Hummel, Michelle Brooks, Devon Oberholtz, Anna Owen, Trever Derry, Abby Brooks, Morgan Lutz, Max Owen, Payton LaPorte, Emma Rutledge, Blake Buckner, Sayer Bireline-Huss, Carson Kading, Sally Jo Geckler, Jalen Michaelson, Gracie Hodges, Lauren Kennedy, Kael Rutledge, Piper Downing, Bryce Betts, Blaine Tallman, Blaise Tallman.

The Guthrie County SESS Range Finders 4-H club held their annual awards night on Sunday, Dec. 8 at the American Legion.

Huge thank you to the American Legion for allowing us to use their facility! All club member families were invited to attend this event and we had 31 members present. The evening started off with a potluck meal and an ice breaker activity with Anna Owen. Next we held our November/December club meeting. Topics for the meeting included the following: Thanking our park lighting display and festival of trees committees for their hard work, receiving an update from our community service committee on the upcoming meals from the heartland event, and discussing what our club can do to help with the new 4-H building fundraising county events.

Next, it was time for club awards from the 2018-2019 4-H year. Natalie Derry started off with recapping the county awards night awards received from SESS members including sharing that SESS received the Banner Club award! Ruby Hummel, President, then recognized SESS volunteers with year of service pins. The instructors took turns reading and handing out club awards.

SESS awards recognize the following: Officers, County Fair Participation, Community Service Event Participation, Discipline Safety Awards, Postal Shoot Participation, State Shoot Participation, Nationals Participation, Club Presentations, Committee Participation, Club Tour Participation, Teen Leader Awards, Graduation and most importantly our Member Excellence Award. Although all SESS awards are an honor, the Member Excellence is our highest award and the following members received it: Abby Brooks, Michelle Brooks, Trever Derry, Trey Derry, Sally Jo Geckler, Ruby Hummel, Jalen Michaelson, Anna Owen, Max Owen, Emma Rutledge, and Kael Rutledge. We ended the night by inducting our new 2019-2020 club officers of: President Ruby Hummel, Vice President Sally Jo Geckler, Secretary Emma Rutledge, Treasurer Max Owen, Recreational Leader Anna Owen, Banner Club Michelle Brooks, Reporter Trever Derry, Photographer Abby Brooks and Historian Piper Downing.