Candidates Filing

Three candidates, thus far, have filed papers to run for office in Audubon County, as the candidate-filing period is underway, statewide. Sarah Jennings, Miranda Bills and Deb Campbell have all turned in their petitions to appear on the June 5 primary ballot. Any others wanting to run for office have until 5 p.m. on Wednesday, March 28, to turn in their nomination petitions.

The offices of County Attorney, Treasurer, Recorder and one seat on the Audubon County Board of Supervisors are up for election this year.  Sarah Jennings currently holds the office of Audubon County Attorney, she was appointed to the position on Jan. 1 of this year. Deb Campbell is the current Audubon County Treasurer, she was appointed to the office on May 9, 2012, following the death of Treasurer Connie Johnson. Campbell was then elected to the office in 2014. Miranda Bills is currently Audubon County’s Recorder. She was appointed to the office on Jan. 3, 2017, after long time County Recorder Mary Lou Johanson retired from office and Gary VanAernam is finishing his second term as Audubon County Supervisor.

Jennings has turned in papers to be the Republican party’s candidate for County Attorney, while Campbell seeks her second elected term as Audubon County Treasurer on the Democratic ticket. Bills has indicated she will seek election to the Recorder’s office, but has not yet turned in her petition, while VanAernam has not yet decided if he will run for a third term.

Candidates seeking the party nomination for any of those offices must have the appropriate number of signatures on their petition in order to file. Those seeking the Republican nomination must get 43 signatures, democratic petitioners must get 22 signatures and those petitioning for the Libertarian party must gather three signatures. All signatures must be from eliglbe voters who are registered to vote in Audubon County. Nomination papers may be found at the following website or you may contact the Audubon County Auditor’s Office for more information on how to receive a petition.

The primary will be held on Tuesday, June 5. Those in the northern 6 townships of Audubon County, known as Precinct One will vote at the Agri-Hall, while those in the south six townships, Precinct Two, vote at the Exira Rec Center.

Keep in mind, new voting laws in the State of Iowa took effect on Jan. 1. During calendar year 2018, registered voters will be asked to show their ID before voting at the polls.  Anyone who does not have the necessary ID will be asked to sign an oath verifying their identity and will be allowed to cast a regular ballot.

Beginning Jan. 1, 2019, Iowa voters will be required to show a driver’s license, non-drivers ID, passport, military ID, veterans ID, or voter ID, or voter ID card at the polls before they vote. Any registered voter who does not have an ID issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation will be issued a voter ID card for free, automatically. Voter ID cards will need to be signed before going to the polls. Voter’s who go to the polls without an ID will be allowed to cast a provisional ballot, or can have another registered voter attest to their identification.