Carleton Bridget

By Jeff Lundquist/NT Publisher

AMES – Iowa State women’s basketball All-American, Bridget Carleton, was recognized today by the Iowa State Athletics Department as the recipient of the 2019 Celia Barquin Arozamena Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year award.

Carleton, now a member of the WNBA’s Connecticut Sun, is one of the greatest players in program history. She capped off her illustrious career at Iowa State with a cabinet full of honors in 2018-19. She was named the 2019 Big 12 Player of the Year, the Cheryl Miller Award winner, Second-Team AP and ESPNW All-American, WBCA All-American and a unanimous selection to the All-Big 12 First Team.

She concluded her career in the top-five of Iowa State’s record book in career scoring (2nd, 2,142), field goals (3rd, 713), steals (3rd, 211), blocked shots (3rd, 124) and 3-pointers (5th, 255). She was a three-time unanimous First-Team All-Big 12 selection. Off the court, Carleton was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First-Team three times, as well.

The Chatham, Ontario, native’s stat line from 2018-19 was one that had never been seen before in the Cyclone annals. She led the Big 12 in scoring, averaging 21.7 points per game, and broke the school record for points in a season, pouring in 760 on the year. She averaged 8.6 rebounds per contest, 4.0 assists, 2.3 steals and 1.2 blocks.

She led the Cyclones to a 26-9 mark that culminated with a Big 12 runner-up finish and a berth into the NCAA Tournament where the Cyclones hosted the first two rounds in Hilton Coliseum. Iowa State’s 26 wins was the second most in school history and her team finished the season ranked No. 18 in the final Coaches poll. Following her outstanding final season in Ames, Carleton was selected as the No. 21 overall pick in the 2019 WNBA Draft.

She became the first Cyclone player to win a national individual award as the recipient of the Cheryl Miller Award, given annually to the nation’s best small forward.

The Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year award was renamed the Celia Barquin Arozamena Female Athlete of the Year award in honor and memory of Iowa State’s 2018 Female Athlete of the Year who died in September of 2018.