The Iowa High School Athletic Association announced post-season sites for the upcoming wrestling season.

Assuming the season goes off as planned, sectional meets for Iowa classes 1A and 2A will be Saturday, Feb. 6, with district meets for all three classes on Feb. 13.

Each meet begins at noon, with the top two wrestlers in each class advancing to the next level of competition. For district meet winners and runners-up, this means the state wrestling meet, tentatively set for Feb. 18-20 at Wells Fargo Arena, Des Moines.


Sectional 6:

  • Atlantic-CAM has been assigned to the Winterset sectional, which also includes Central Decatur, Chariton, Clarke of Osceola and Panorama.

The winner advances to the district meet at Creston, which also draws in the Glenwood sectional. Besides the Rams, there’s Clarinda, Creston, Red Oak, Shenandoah and Southwest Iowa of Sidney invovled.


Sectional 2:

  • ACGC and Audubon have been assigned to a sectional meet at Ogden, which also involves the Coon Rapids-Bayard, East Sac County, Fort Dodge St. Edmond, Nodaway Valley and South Central Calhoun.

The district meet is at Guthrie Center, where advancers from the Mapleton sectional (hosted by MVAOCOU High School) come from. Those schools, besides MVAOCOU, are Alta-Aurelia, Lawton-Bronson, Logan-Magnolia, West Monona, Westwood of Sloan and Woodbine.

Sectionals 13 and 14:

  • Three area schools are split over two sectionals, with both feeding into a district meet at Underwood.

Riverside will host a sectional in Oakland, where AHSTW is also competing. Also there: Council Bluffs St. Albert, Missouri Valley, Tri-Center of Neola, Underwood and West Central Valley of Stuart.

Griswold has been sent to Southwest Valley of Corning. Also competing there are Bedford-Lenox, Clarinda Academy, East Mills, East Union, Mount Ayr and Treynor.

Trending Food Videos