School directors, city positions on General Election ballot

Voters will vote on school board directors and city positions in the general election on Nov. 5.

AUDUBON COUNTY — The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5 and ballots will include city positions as well as school board directors and one public measure. Individuals may take out nomination papers from their local school board secretaries, county auditors or on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

In the city of Audubon, 10 or more signatures are needed for nomination papers. Positions up for re-election include mayor (2 year term), the incumbent is Barbara Jacobsen. There are two council positions up for re-election — incumbents are Andy Griffith and Robert A. Jacobsen.

There is also a public measure on the ballot.

The measure asks if the city should be authorized to impose a Hotel and Motel Tax, at a rate of 7 percent, effective Jan. 1.

In the city of Exira, 10 or more signatures are needed for nomination papers. The positions up for re-election include mayor (2 year term), incumbent is Mike Huegerich; and three council seats, (4 year terms) including Clark Borkowski, Mark Paulsen and Peggy Toft.

For the city of Kimballton, 10 signatures are needed for nomination petitions; Terms up for re-election include mayor, a 2 year term, the incumbent is Millette Shores; two council seats are open, (4 year terms), incumbents are Joanie Heuton and Justin Larsen.

For the city of Brayton, 10 or more signatures are needed for the nomination petition; Open positions include Mayor, held by incumbent – Cally Christensen. This is a 2 year term. Other council members include Steve Fister, Steve Sykes, and Tanya Marshall, all four year terms.

For the city of Gray, five signatures are needed for nomination papers. City positions with terms ending in 2019 include Bryan Olson (a 2 year term) along with Martha (Penny) Schmidt and Sam Wendl.

Two area school districts will also have school board candidates on the ballot.

Nomination paperwork and affidavits must be filed with the district board secretary.

In the Audubon Community School District, 25 signatures or more are needed for the nomination petition. Position terms end Nov. 18, 2019. Three board director seats are up for re-election, incumbents are Mark Nissen, Brittany Robinson and Christine Konkler.

In the Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton Community School District, 24 or more signatures are needed for nomination petitions. Director terms are for 4 years, ending Dec. 16, 2019. The following incumbents are up for re-election: Terri Harris, Matt Jorgensen and Joel Schueter.

Polling locations in Audubon County include the Audubon Agri-Hall, 400 North Division Street West, for Audubon County eligible voters in the Audubon, Coon-Rapids Bayard, and IKM-Manning schools and cities of Audubon and Gray.

The Exira Rec Center, 106 North Jefferson Street, in Exira is for Audubon County eligible voters in the Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton, Guthrie, Adair-Casey, Cumberland-Anita-Massena and Atlantic Schools, and cities of Exira, Kimballton and Brayton.

School and city election information from Shelby County includes school board directors from the IKM-Manning district and city positions from Elk Horn.

In the IKM-Manning Community School District, School board members whose four year terms are up in 2019 include: David Heller, Board President, Joe Maas and Zachery Meiners.

For the city of Elk Horn, the following positions will be up for re-election on Nov. 5.

Mayor Stan Jens’ term is up in 2019, along with council members Timothy Fredericksen, Danny Petersen and Nate Potts.

Shelby County Auditor, Mark Maxwell, said it was important to let voters know that voters MUST vote in the county they live in this year, in the combined city/school elections. “In the past some voters crossed county lines to vote in school elections, this is no longer the case,” he said. He added that most city and school polling places will be in the same place as General Elections are held.