ELK HORN — Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton High School Seniors will celebrate graduation with a Commencement Parade and Ceremony on Sunday, May 31.

The seniors and up to four family members will line up at the Exira school, and a parade through Exira to Brayton, Kimballton and finally Elk Horn, ending up at the school building. There, graduates will exit their cars, one at a time, receive their diplomas and will have time to take pictures in front of a Trojan backdrop with family. The ceremony won’t include an audience, or speakers, but graduates will be able to move their tassels and pose for pictures.

The parade route has been announced for those who wish to cheer on the seniors.

The Commencement Parade will leave the Exira Elementary starting at 1 p.m. and go north on Edgarton Street, then west on Washington Street, south on Highway 71 to Brayton. In Brayton, they will go west on Broadway Street, south on Washington Street, East to County T, and north out of Brayton on Highway 71 to Littlefield Drive. Then to Elk Horn, and north on Main Street/Highway 173 to Kimballton, west on Esbeck Street, south on Second Street, east on Odense Street, south on Main Street/Highway 173 back to Elk Horn. In Elk Horn south on Main Street to Elm Street. East on Elm to Madison, north on Madison to the alley, west down the alley into the school parking lot.

Parade watchers are asked to sit along the parade route and cheer on the seniors. Use social distancing to help keep the community safe.

Delivery of the diplomas and graduation speakers will be live streamed on KJAN and then posted to the school’s Youtube channel.

The Class Motto is “Now you’re seeing 2020.”

The senior class flower is a white carnation, speckled with maroon, and senior colors are maroon and grey.

The graduating class includes:

Ethan Christian Andersen

Carson John Anderson

Jacey Lynn Anthofer

Cade Thomas Bruns

Everette James Carroll

William Herbert Carroll

Destiny Ann Gessert

Kellie Aaron Haas

Devin Allen Hansen

Lauren Auna Hansen

Taylor Ollie Harris

Amy Marie Hartvigsen

Jarrett Wilson Huff

Erin Jo Irlmeier

Jayden Allan Jensen

Hudson James Kitelinger

Emma Jean Koeppe

Cooper Thomas Larsen

Alexis Eileen Madsen

Wyatt Kristofer Madsen

Sarah Ann Marshall

Ethan Jace Marxen

Caitlin Marie Meyers

David Charles Nelsen

Creighton Emery Nelson

Mia Jade Nelson

Selena Marie-Edward Nichols

William Winston Paulsen

Justin Brian Petersen

Noah Lane Petersen

Jacob James Rattenborg

Ellie Jane Schultes

Abbreeanna Eve Schumacher

Kyla Leigh-Ann Smith

Jacob Timothy Snyder

Tessa Grace VanderWal

Laurel Virginia Waller

Kamryn Marie Waymire

Logan Alex Woods

And while the graduating class will get to pick up diplomas, they will not be going to prom.

After meeting with the parents of junior class students in the district, officials decided to cancel the 2020 Prom, scheduled for June 13.

Superintendent Trevor Miller said the decision was due to restrictions on school sponsored activities until at least July 1.

“As a result of the meeting, the group decided that a school sponsored prom will not be held on June 13. Please look for information from the junior class parents about next steps,” Miller said.